Mittwoch, 22. Februar 2012

I AMsterdam

AMSTERDAM!



Well, I know what everyone’s perception about Amsterdam probably is – weed and the red light district. Annnddd you are absolutely correct. Hahaha, but really though, Amsterdam was actually a very pretty city.

This is going to be a short post because 1. We were only in Amsterdam for 2 nights 2. There is not much to do in Amsterdam 3. I will be skipping over many details

I know I said previously that London was the coldest city… I was lying. Because AMSTERDAM was FREEZING. The high was 20 and the low was 9. Degrees. Fahrenheit.  Brrrrr. We got to Amsterdam around 3, and we were already exhausted from the previous days in London, so we just chilled in our hostile (which was VERY nice btw. 30 euros a night, Hostel Van Gogh. BEST SHOWER I HAVE HAD SINCE I HAVE BEEN IN EUROPE). We were located in a good spot in Amsterdam, right near some restaurants and fun night life and about a 25 min walk from red light district. We got some dinner a bit later and went out that night. That’s about the most excitement I can blog about at this moment.

The next day, Saturday, we went to the Heineken Museum!! It was very similar to the Guinness Factory but it was BETTER! It was better because it was more interactive, we got more free beer along the way, and I did not mind the taste of the beer either! I definitely would recommend doing the Heineken Beer Tour if you are ever in Amsterdam! After the beer tour, we went to the Van Gogh Museum.  Personally, I thought it was a rip off because 3 of his biggest pieces (starry night, and some other famous ones) were not actually innnn the museum. But I guess it was still cool to see a bunch of Van Gogh art work. Wish I could have posted pictures but you are not allowed to have cameras in the Van Gogh Museum. After the museum we went back to our hostile and got ready again for the night. And we went out and it was fun (hahaha… I know, soo0o detailed).



The red light district is literally an area of roads with nakey women in the windows. There is a main road which I guess all the really good places to go are. You are not allowed to take pictures of the nakey women or else they will chase you down and break your camera or they will through a cup of pee on you. I kid you not. 2 min is all you need for the red light district. Btw they call it the red light district because literally, the windows are lighted by red lights. Clever.

That was Amsterdam – it was cool to say I went there but I don’t really have the urge to go again.

FUN FACTS
There are so many coffee shops. And by coffee shops I mean weed shops. You can buy weed, brownies, cupcakes, space cakes, cake, and other marijuana stuff in these coffee shops. If you want to go to an ACUTAL coffee shop you have to go to a “café”.
The Dutch are the meanest people we have met yet, right ahead of the Germans. The Dutch were rude, non-smiley and had a weird language that was too harsh and I just did not like them. Rude.

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen